Novato Sanitary District | Creating Worth From All of Novato's Waste

Business Hours

8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

(415) 892-1694
We are on the job
24 hours a day,
365 days a year.
We Are a Green Business

Our Board

The Board of Directors is comprised of 5 at-large members representing the entire district. Board Meetings are currently held on the 2nd Monday of every month at 5:30 pm, at our office: 500 Davidson St. and are open to the public.

Current Board members are listed below

Current Board members are listed here.

Jerry Peters, President (Turn on Javascript!)

  • Elected in 2011.
  • Term of Office: 2015-2020.
  • Resident of Novato from 1975 to present.
  • Educational History:
    • BA Business, San Francisco State University.
    • MBA in Transportation, San Francisco State University.
  • Employment History:
    • Airline industry 26 years – supervisor, manager, executive. Customer service, maintenance, marketing.
    • Computer industry 2 years. Sales, customer service.
    • Property and Facilities Manager 20 years, Brayton Purcell LLC.
  • Other Boards or Foundations:
    • Past-President and long-time Board Member, Novato Chamber of Commerce.
    • Current Co-Chair of Novato Chamber of Commerce Government Affairs Committee.
    • Past Chair and member of various other Chamber committees.
  • Community/Volunteer Service:
    • Chair of the Novato Save-the-Depot Task Force.
    • Co-Founder of the Novato 4th of July Parade Committee.
    • Various local fund raisers and campaigns (Paint the Town Red, Measure A, and City Council elections, etc.)
    • Former basketball coach on various Novato Parks and Recreation teams.
    • 2007 Novato Citizen of the Year.

Jean Mariani, President Pro-Tem (Turn on Javascript!)

  • Appointed in 2011.
  • Term of Office: 2015-2020.
  • Resident of Novato from 1958 to 1973 and from 2004 to present.
  • Educational History:
    • BS Economics, Santa Clara University.
    • Financial Management & Rate Setting, American Water Works Association, 1993.
    • Governmental Auditing, Graduate School, USDA, 1997.
  • Employment History:
    • City and County of San Francisco 1982-1993 Budget and finance positions with Board of Supervisors, Mayor's Office and SF Public Utilities Commission (water, power, transit).
    • East Bay Municipal Utility District 1993-1996 Director, Office of Management and Budget.
    • City and County of San Francisco 1997-2009 Budget and finance positions with Controller's Office, Sheriff's Department and SF Public Utilities Commission (water, power, wastewater).
    • Sonoma County Water Agency 2010-2011 Project Manager wastewater rate study and cost accounting system replacement.
  • Elected and Appointed Offices:
    • Member, Board of Directors, Sanitary District No. 1 of Marin County 1996-2002.
    • Commissioner, Central Marin Sanitation Agency (representing City of Larkspur) 1996-2002.
    • President, California Association of Sanitation Agencies 2001-2002.
    • Executive Board Member, California Association of Sanitation Agencies 2004-2005.
  • Community / Volunteer Service:
    • Marin County Open Space Green Gorilla.
    • Marin Humane Society, Dog Training Assistant Volunteer.

Carole Dillon-Knutson (Turn on Javascript!)

  • Appointed in 2015.
  • Term of Office: 2015-2018.
  • Resident of Novato since 1970
  • Educational History:
    • BS in Business, St. Mary's College
  • Employment History:
    • Retired Business Manager, Subsurface Engineering (Geotechnical Consulting Firm)
  • Other Boards or Foundations:
    • Former Mayor of Novato
    • Retired Novato City Council Member
    • Marin Community College District Board of Trustees
    • SMART (Sonoma Marin Area Rail Transit) Executive Board
    • TAM (Transportation Authority of Marin) Executive Board
    • ABAG (Association of Bay Area Governments) Executive Board
  • Community/Volunteer Service:
    • Novato Rotary Sunrise
    • Soroptimist International of Novato
    • AM Business Women
    • Wednesday Morning Dialogue
    • Former Marin Master Gardeners
    • Novato Garden Club
    • American Association of University Women
    • Novato Theater Company, Board Member

William C. Long (Turn on Javascript!)

  • Originally Elected in 1976, re-elected in 2001, 2005 and 2009.
  • Term of Office: 2013-2018.
  • Resident of Novato since 1970.
  • Educational History:
    • BS & MS Chemical Engineering MIT
  • Employment History:
    • Chevron 1960-1992 (technical and marketing staff and management)
    • Consultant/expert witness 1993-2002
  • Other Board or Foundations:
    • Chair, Bay Area Ridge Trail Council
    • Chair, Marin Open Space Trust
    • Board of Directors, North Bay Water Reuse Authority
  • Community/Volunteer Service:
    • San Francisco Bay Trail Board of Directors
    • Marin Council BSA Advisory Council

Brant M. Miller (Turn on Javascript!)

  • Originally Elected in 2013.
  • Term of Office: 2013-2018.
  • Resident of Novato since 2006 (Marin resident since 1944 with some gaps).
  • Educational History:
    • BS in Chemical Engineering, University of California, Berkeley
    • Leadership Novato
  • Employment History:
    • Chevron 1963 – 1998 (Engineering, Project Management)
  • Community Service:
    • Marin Civil Grand Jury (2010/2011)

A list of Board committee assignments is available here.

Assigned at June 26, 2017 Board meeting.

  1. Standing Committees:
    1. Joint City/District Solid Waste Committee:
      • Jean Mariani
      • Jerry Peters
      • Brant Miller, Alternate
    2. Wastewater Operations Committee:
      • Brant Miller
      • Carole Dillon-Knutson
      • Jean Mariani, Alternate
    3. Capital Improvements Committee (Formerly: Strategic Planning and New Facilities Committee)
      • Carole Dillon-Knutson
      • William C. Long
      • Brant Miller, Alternate
    4. Finance Committee:
      • William C. Long
      • Jean Mariani
      • Carole Dillon-Knutson, Alternate
  2. Regular Committees:
    1. California Association of Sanitation Agencies:
      • Jean Mariani, Delegate
      • Sandeep Karkal, Alternate
    2. California Sanitation Risk Management Authority:
      • Sandeep Karkal, Delegate
      • Brant Miller, Alternate
    3. North Bay Water Reuse Authority:
      • William C. Long, Delegate
      • Jerry Peters, Alternate
    4. North Bay Watershed Association:
      • Brant Miller, Delegate
      • Sandeep Karkal, Alternate
  3. Ad Hoc Committee Assignments:
    • (None assigned at June 26, 2017 Board meeting.)